Skip to main content
About CFP Board

Leadership & Staff

Everyone at CFP Board works tirelessly to uphold CFP® certification as the standard of excellence in personal financial planning. Meet the people responsible for setting the course.


Finance and Information Technology

Roger C. Myers, Jr., CPA, MBA

Chief Financial Officer

Dave Mazulla

Director, IT

Corporate Relations

Joseph V. Maugeri, CFP®

Managing Director, Corporate Relations

Kim Hayes, CFP®

Director, Corporate Relations

Nicholas Tarsa

Manager, Firm Programs, Corporate Relations


Elizabeth M. Stewart, Esq., M.A.

Chief Operating Officer


Tom Sporkin, JD

Managing Director of Enforcement

Adam R. Zajac, JD, LL.M.

Director, Investigations

Professional Practice

John M. Loper, CFP®, MBA

Managing Director, Professional Practice (Education, Examination, and Experience)

Ibidun Layi-Ojo, M.S., SPHR, SHRM-SCP

Director, Examinations

Mary Kay Svedberg, Ph.D.

Director of Education

Alex Torres

Director, Continuing Education & Experience

Marketing & Communications

James N. Katsaounis, M.S.

Managing Director, Marketing & Communications

August Adams, M.A.

Manager, Online Communications

Jason Gudenius, PMP

Director, Marketing

John C. Pappas

Director, External Communications

Timothy Stifel, M.A.

Director, Stakeholder Communications

Professional Standards & Legal

Leo G. Rydzewski, JD, CAE

General Counsel

Erin Koeppel, JD

Deputy General Counsel – Adjudication

William Nelson, JD, LLM

Assistant General Counsel

Center For Financial Planning

D.A. Abrams, CAE

Managing Director, Center For Financial Planning

Charles R. Chaffin, Ed.D.

Director, Academic Programs & Initiatives

Eddy Demirovic, MBA, PMP

Director, Talent Pipeline

Dawn Harris

Director, Diversity & Inclusion

Public Policy

Maureen Thompson

Vice President of Public Policy